2021 Gala Raises Record-Breaking $690,000

Womankind's 2021 Gala--virtual once more--was held live at Media 3 studio in Midtown Manhattan. It was an incredibly inspiring evening that celebrated Communities Rising, especially in the face of many challenges this year, including the ongoing pandemic, alarmingly high incidents of gender-based violence, increased anti-Asian violence, and economic downturn. With the collective effort of over 100 generous sponsors and auction donors, as well as supporters watching from home from around the world, Womankind raised a record-breaking $690,000--the most raised to date--for our programs and services to help survivors rise above violence and build a path to healing. Our work is not possible without your support--thank you!

Check out coverage of the 2021 Gala in ELLE Magazine, ABC7 Eyewitness News, and BUST Magazine.

Creative Team
Jen Epstein
Merv Garretson
Janet Akie Masamitsu
Sara Shenasky

Phoenix Woman of the Year - Media

Nina Garcia

Editor-in-Chief, ELLE and Judge, Project Runway

Learn about Nina's work.

Phoenix Woman of the Year - Law

Sandra Leung

Executive Vice President and General Counsel, Bristol Myers Squibb

Learn about Sandra's work.


Listen to their music here.

Queen V

Listen to her music here.

Vice Chair / $100,000+

Karen Elizaga & Jay Ptashek
J.T. Tai & Co. Foundation

Ambassador / $50,000-$74,999

Jenifer & Brendan Garvey
Kirkland & Ellis LLP

Innovator / $25,000-$49,999

Bristol Myers Squibb
Quinn Emanuel Urquhart & Sullivan, LLP

Benefactor / $10,000-$24,999

Arnold & Porter
Kathy Chuy & Jay Huang
Covington & Burling LLP
Hearst Magazines
Susanna Hong
Mae Hsieh, Gregory Bylinsky & Family
Hogan Lovells
Jones Day
Lucy & Victor Kan
King & Spalding LLP
Janet Akie Masamitsu & Merv Garretson
Media 3 Ltd.
Mary & Jason Minard
Morgan, Lewis & Bockius LLP
Paul Hastings LLP
Schonbek 1870, now a subsidiary of WAC
Tony Group Foundation Fund at Hawaii Community Foundation
Wölffer Estate Vineyard

Host Committee / $5,000-$9,999

Richard Aftanas
Beal Family Foundation
Crowell & Moring LLP
Law Office of Deborah Chan, P.C.
Sandra Leung
Joo-Yung Lee & John Wells
Ong Family Foundation
DLA Piper
Marisa & Tomer Seifan
Veronica Stigeler-Cowher & Bill Cowher
Kyoko Waseda-Hida & Norio Hida

Patron / $1,000-$4,999

Susan Abdalla
Alera Group
Lisa & Jeff Blau
Clara Chae & Julian Liau
Sujata Dayal
Zal Dabhoiwala & Dilshad Marolia
Blakeslee Dorothy
Nicole Eldridge
Winnie & Michael Feng
Narges Kakalia & Marc Merriweather
Erica Tuft Karsch
Stefan Lalos
Jae Lee Law, P.C.
Jessica C. Lee & Steven Jacoby
Reginald F. Lewis Foundation
Andrew Lin
Pat & Deborah Manocchia
Amanda McEvoy
Rhea Miller
Allen Murabayashi
Miok & David Snow
Vince Willis
Vonceil Yara

Womankind also thanks all those who contributed at the Friend and Supporter levels!

Ada Supper Club
American Dream
Atlantic Theater Company
Blake Anding
Bridgespan Group
Christian Celeste Tate
Classic Sofa
Cut + Clarity
Danny Taing
Dina Given; The Wine Diva
Foolish Mortals Inc
Harmonia Holdings Ltd
Hudson Yards
Intersect by Lexus
Jarret Yoshida Inc.
Jamie Yoshida
Kavant & Sharart
Ken Downing
Kenneth Dingledine
Lindsey Schaefer on behalf of Harriet Maxwell Macdonald & Andrew Corrie
Malia Mills
Mary Garrett Turner Minard
Micholl Azenon & Zachary Reed
MLS Works
Moulin Rouge
Phyllis Kao
Sandra Leung
Sundance Film Festival
Sushi Nonaka
Taj Fitness
The Bead Gallery
Wendy Federman
Wölffer Estate Vineyard
Narges Kakalia / Womankind Board Chair
Yasmeen Hamza / Womankind CEO
Karen Elizaga / Womankind Honorary Board Member
Carolyn Antonio / Womankind Director, Development
Merv Garretson / Co-Chair
Mae Hsieh / Co-Chair
Mary Turner Minard / Co-Chair

Susanna Hong / Gala Committee Member
Ivy Shen / Auction Chair
Sohini Das / Womankind Events Associate
Sumaira Mian / Womankind Development Associate
Gabrielle Nguyen / Womankind Communications Associate

Chantal La-Fon / Survivor
Sheng Lin / Womankind Advocate
Lira Kim / Womankind Pathways to Healing Specialist
Abri Berg / Volunteer and Post-Production Content Creator

Creative Team
Janet Akie Masamitsu
Merv Garretson
Jen Epstein
Sara Shenasky